Maya Rudolph & Away We Go

93042_dish-of-salt-maya-rudolph-talks-away-we-go

Women are funny and Maya Rudolph is underrated. There I said it.
After reading this short but sweet interview with her, ostensibly about her new movie Away We Go, but actually about anything and everything in between, I am even more excited to see her in this movie when it comes out June 25! If you haven’t seen the preview, watch it here. The basic idea is that Maya and Jon Krasinski are expecting a child and decide to travel the country to try to decide where to establish their home; heartwarming hilarity will undoubtedly ensue.
It also stars a few of my other favorite people: Allison Janey, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Catherine O’Hara, Jim Halpert Jon Krasinski, and why not Jeff Daniels. [xxPleaseBeGoodxx]

In the above interview, she touches on women and comedy, something I’ve clearly been thinking about the last few days:

[Question: “I read an account that said that only 36 out of the 116 cast members on SNL have been women and only 20 have survived into their second season. The guys seem to break out: Adam Sandler, Eddie Murphy, John Belushi among many others. The women don’t seem to break out in the same way. Where are Cheri Oteri, Jan Hooks, Ellen Cleghorne? Has your experience been different?”]

It has. When I arrived at SNL that seemed to be the story but it started getting old because things changed. Without a doubt in sketch comedy there are fewer women than men. There are fewer women at the Groundlings today even though there are a lot more women than when I started.

I don’t know if comedy is a male sport. I always wondered that. There were always less of us than them no question. As far as the group of women I started with at SNL, I came into an amazing powerhouse of women on that show and I feel like everything was macheteed out of the way for me and the girls I was there with. 

Thoughts? Why is it that men in comedy are regarded as funnier and their careers become more fruitful? (What glass ceiling?? Where?!)

 

In the meantime get your comedy and/or Maya Rudolph fix by renting Idiocracy: the premise: “A narrator explains that in modern society, natural selection has become indifferent toward intelligence, so that in a society in which intelligence is systematically debased, stupid people easily out-breed the intelligent, creating, over the course of five centuries, an irredeemably dysfunctional society.

One response to “Maya Rudolph & Away We Go

  1. I agree–which flashes me back to a little rant I had a few months ago about Vanity Fair’s new comdey legends issue: http://littlejunkies.wordpress.com/2009/03/04/laugh-riot/ They only had three women on their list! Boo!

    Also, if Away We Go doesn’t do it for you, see Rachel Weisz in The Brothers Bloom. Fun-ny!

Leave a Reply

