new books to read!

Happy summer everyone! I hope you all are enjoying the weather; it’s finally started to get beautiful here in NYC. Unfortunately I’m taking summer classes so my weekends are more writing papers designing websites than slip and slide and bbq. Such is life! Spitfire and I decided upon the new reads for the summer, so pick one up and join us here to discuss!

First up, Band of Sisters: American Women at War in Iraq by Kirsten Holmstedt, which spotlights the experiences of women fighting in Iraq.

I just requested it from the library and I’m very excited because I’m woefully ignorant about women in combat.

Next up in August we’ll tackle The Girls Who Went Away: The Hidden History of Women Who Surrendered Children for Adoption in the Decades Before Roe v. Wade by Ann Fessler.

This has been on my to-read list for what seems like forever so I’m glad to finally get around to reading it.

After that, September-ish we’re going to read Frankly My Dear: “Gone With The Wind” Revisted by Molly Haskell.

I’m a HUGE Gone With The Wind fan ever since I read the book in middle school and bawled my eyes out, and yes I’ve seen the four hour epic about 10 times, so I’m pumped to “revisit” the epic novel and film with a feminist lense.

Hopefully at least one of those piques your interest, so why not request it from the library (just a kind reminder to support your local library!!) and come back to discuss with us. Because who likes reading alone?

3 responses to “new books to read!

  1. Boo yah. Great choices.

  2. I’ll definitely be seeing you in September! Speaking of the old-Hollywood brilliance that is Gone With the Wind, have you seen the less brilliant but just as fun sequel, Scarlett? It may or may not star one former James Bond, Mr. Timothy Dalton as Rhett Butler (speaking of James Bond, Sean Bean is also in it)!

    Anywho, it’s awesome. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0108915/

    • seen *and* read the sequel. i was a huge fan of GWTW back in the day….i wonder if it had anything to do with the fact that when my mom said we could only watch ONE movie we’d choose GWTW because it was 4 hours long.
      naaaaaaaaaah.

Leave a Reply

